An early start (signs of things to come?); we were up and out by 7am. No time for breakfast or even taking our time getting ready.
Apparantly one of our headlights was not working, and Fiz figured we should stop somewhere along the way to get it fixed... it was a big race, we really didn't want to miss our ferry.
Stopped at a place called Cheraton & Folkstone, went to Tesco for junk food and other supplies; and with some help found a Kwikfit garage where we encountered our first racist person. He refused to help fix the light and sent us on our way. Boohoo to him!
On way to Dover, lanes shut and then only one lane open and then loading stopped.... argh! A very stressful journey, wondering whether we will make it or not... not helped by Lamees's ever helpful "Anyone want some cheese?" as she ate her croissants!
So.... missed the ferry. uh oh. although 'uh oh' hardly describes the feelings.... anyway, caught the next ferry though, with no problems just a long wait. To help matters along, the ferry is delayed again due to a missing person.... feels like someone is giving us a sign.
As we finally drive onto the ferry, Fiz is chatting to the fone, as we are directed to our parking space, the dude directing us makes a motion to tell Fiz to put her fone down. So in classic Fiz style, she asks him if this means there is going to be no signal on the ship. This makes me laugh as he was trying to tell her its illegal to talk on the fone and drive...
By the time we finally get on the ferry we are totally exhausted - so like any classy ladies, we commandeer a bench infront of the loos, lie down and crash out. Not the most comfortable sleeping conditions but hey, sleep is sleep.
Fiz had her leg slapped by some "older" lady cos she wanted to sit down - resulted in a not so happy Fiz.
I (T) had some old lady come up to me and start chatting; I was called "ethnic", asked where my dress was from, was I or the dress Moroccan and then I got told that of course I was "English"... I don't know whether this was weird because I had just woken up and everything felt a bit surreal or because it was just weird.
Then to add to the general mayhem our trip had experienced so far, we lost the car. Yep, we lost our Baby in the ship somewhere. I had thought I knew where it was, but generally unhelpful staff gave us the run around and they knew no more than we did - we ended up running round the ENTIRE ferry at least twice, up and down stairs, up and down other stairs, back up and down some more stairs plus ALL the decks.
Eventually we recognised one of the guys working on the ferry who directed us to the car, which was where I had thought it was initially. Sat right at the front, ready to leave, with all other cars having to drive around it. Ooooops!
We rushed off the ferry laughing like loons and drove into France to meet Biscuit Boys and 3men & a Baby.
Once we meet up, we get a walkie-talkie to ensure we can keep up and get directions - which is good as we are the only ones without a SatNav. They were especially useful on our way to Paris, especially since we experienced mad torrential rain on the way to Paris - slow going for a while.
Fiz especially loves the walkie-talkies... though what she said the first time we needed them was "can you talkie-walkie them?"
Lol